[NHDOE-ETNews] Congressional Efforts to Restore Federal Funding for School Technology

Higgins, Cathy CHiggins at ed.state.nh.us
Tue Mar 22 17:23:07 EDT 2011

I am forwarding the following press release about federal education
technology funding through Title II-D.
March 21, 2011

CoSN: Jennifer Cummings, 202-822-9491, jcummings at cosn.org
<mailto:jcummings at cosn.org> 
ISTE: Marlene Nesary, 541-302-3789, mnesary at iste.org
NASSP: Bob Farrace, 703-860-7257, farraceb at nassp.org
<mailto:farraceb at nassp.org> 
NEA: Michelle Hudgins, 202-822-7823, mhudgins at nea.org
NSBA: Linda Embrey703-838-6737, lembrey at nsba.org
SETDA: Sara Hall, 410-279-3368, shall at setda.org
SIIA: John Crosby, 202-789-4469, jcrosby at siia.net

Senate Leaders Lend Support to Protect "Necessary" Federal Innovation

WASHINGTON (March 21, 2011) - Recognizing the essential role education
technology plays in both strengthening schools and the economy, 14 U.S.
Senators called on the Senate Appropriations Committee to restore
funding for the Enhancing Education Through Technology (EETT) program to
the FY 10 level of $100 million. The move follows an ongoing and growing
call from the education community to invest in technology-based
education innovation through EETT.

The Consortium for School Networking (CoSN), International Society for
Technology in Education (ISTE), National Association of Secondary School
Principals (NASSP), National Education Association (NEA), National
School Board Association (NSBA), Software & Information Industry
Association (SIIA), and the State Educational Technology Directors
Association (SETDA) have been leading efforts to maintain funding for
EETT, an essential program that is helping transform our nation's
schools and is providing educators across the country the support
necessary to integrate technology into the classroom.

These groups released the following statement, "We applaud Senate
leaders for recognizing what educators in all 50 states have long
understood: EETT is an essential component to supporting 21st century
education and ensuring a strong, relevant, and meaningful education for
all students. While the dollars for EETT may be perceived as relatively
small, the impact and ROI for our schools and our children is

In a letter to the chairmen and ranking members of the Senate
Appropriations Committee and the subcommittee responsible for the
education budget, the 14 Senator signatories urged their colleagues to
provide EETT funding of at least $100 million for both FY2011 and
FY2012. In making the case, they wrote to their colleagues:
"The strategic use of education technology improves teaching and
learning, especially in low- income and rural schools. Many states and
schools, however, currently face challenges in meeting the academic
needs and expectations of today's students. We support the Obama
Administration's proposal to infuse education technology throughout
federal programs, but recognize that EETT's dedicated funding stream is
as critical as it has ever been."

The letter continued: "While the appropriation [for EETT] has decreased
substantially from $700 million in FY2002 to only $100 million in
FY2010, the program continues to provide states with funding vital to
education technology and especially the professional development
necessary for technology to be effective."

The letter was signed by U.S. Senators Max Baucus (MT), Jeff Bingaman
(NM), Mark Begich (AK), Benjamin L. Cardin (MD), Tim Johnson (SD), Frank
Lautenberg (NJ), Pat Leahy (VT), Carl Levin (MI), Barbara Mikulski (MD),
John D. Rockefeller IV (WV), Jeanne Shaheen (NH), Tom Udall (NM),
Sheldon Whitehouse (RI), and Ron Wyden (OR).
Senators Johnson, Lautenberg, Leahy, and Mikulski are members of the
Senate Appropriations Committee. Senators Bingaman, Mikulski, and
Whitehouse are members of the Senate Health, Education, Labor, and
Pensions Committee.

The full text of the letter can be found at http://tinyurl.com/4su4ths
f4&id=9d192a004f&e=d91409351a> .

The Consortium for School Networking (CoSN) is the country's premier
voice in education technology leadership, serving K-12 technology
leaders who through their strategic use of technology, improve teaching
and learning. For further information, visit www.cosn.org
4&id=ab87c49efa&e=d91409351a> .

The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE (r)) is the
premier membership association for educators and education leaders
engaged in advancing excellence in learning and teaching through the
innovative and effective use of technology in PK-12 and teacher
education. Home to ISTE's annual conference and exposition and the
widely-adopted NETS, ISTE represents more than 100,000 professionals
worldwide. www.iste.org
4&id=902b929ed5&e=d91409351a> .

The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) is the
leading organization of and national voice for middle level and high
school principals, assistant principals, and all school leaders from
across the United States and more than 45 countries around the world.
The association provides research-based professional development and
resources, networking, and advocacy to build the capacity of middle
level and high school leaders to continually improve student
performance. Reflecting its long-standing commitment to student
leadership development as well, NASSP administers the National Honor
Society, National Junior Honor Society, National Elementary Honor
Society, and National Association of Student Councils. For more
information about NASSP, located in Reston, VA, visit www.nassp.org
4&id=f16dc6ef3e&e=d91409351a> .

The National Education Association (NEA) is the nation's largest
professional employee organization, representing 3.2 million elementary
and secondary teachers, higher education faculty, education support
professionals, school administrators, retired educators and students
preparing to become teachers. www.nea.org

Founded in 1940, the National School Boards Association (NSBA) is a
not-for-profit organization representing state associations of school
boards and their more than 90,000 local school board members throughout
the U.S. Working with and through our state associations, NSBA advocates
for equity and excellence in public education through school board
leadership. www.nsba.org

The Software & Information Industry Association (SIIA) is the principal
trade association for the software and digital content industry. SIIA
provides global services in government relations, business development,
corporate education and intellectual property protection to 500 leading
software and information companies. www.siia.net
4&id=e075a7a8af&e=d91409351a> .

The State Educational Technology Directors Association (SETDA) is the
national member association that represents the interests of the
educational technology leadership of state and territorial education
agencies in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and the Bureau of
Indian Affairs. SETDA members work collectively and in public-private
partnerships to ensure that meaningful technology innovations with broad
potential for systemic improvements and cost-savings in teaching,
learning and leadership are brought to scale. www.setda.org
4&id=857dc3f291&e=d91409351a> .


Cathy Higgins, Ed.D.
State Educational Technology Director
Office of Educational Technology
New Hampshire Department of Education
Email: chiggins at ed.state.nh.us
Phone: 603.271.2453
Web: http://www.nheon.org/oet/ and

More information about the NHDOE-ETNews mailing list